Write, you fool!

There are those tidbits of writing advice that we hear over and over (and frankly want to ignore). The top one being, write every day. Uhh… what if you don’t have time to write every day?

Between working part time, going to school part time, doing volunteer work and being a mother and wife full time, I sincerely don’t have time. But writing is an addiction to me, like sugar. I’ll never give up writing like I’ll never give up sugar. They both make me too happy. That means I have to make room to write.

I opted to change the advice from write every day to write regularly. Aim for daily, sure, but find a routine that works for you and do it. Don’t think about doing it. DO IT.

The sad truth is that if we don’t make time, we have to let go of the dream of being a writer. Writers write. Plain and simple. And if you want this bad enough, you’ll cram it in to your busy life somewhere because that’s what we writers do. And you and me, we’re writers.

img cred: memegenerator.net

Leave a Reply

